What is Pageant and why is it kicking off?

We have officially transitioned in Pageant time here at FBR. If you are new to Pageant or new to our church, you probably have a few questions like:

What is this Pageant thing I keep hearing about?
To people who attend, Pageant is simply First Baptist Raytown’s annual Christmas play, but Pageant is really a love gift from the members of First Baptist Raytown to the members of the community. Every year we share the story of Jesus from his birth to the crucifixion to His Resurrection. We’re able to share the same remarkable storyline year after year because new characters in new situations share it in a fresh way each year. Last year the cast, choir, and crew performed 8 free performances to over 20,000 people, with 1,488 of those individuals accepting Jesus as their Lord and Savior. If that doesn’t convince you to be involved, I don’t know what will!

I don’t like to sing or act, so how else could I be involved?
Just like any theatrical production, it takes a multitude of people with different gifts to pull it off. While we do need people to sing and act, we also need volunteers to help backstage; participate as non-speaking cast members, angels, and solders; take tickets and pass out programs; seat the audience; wash costumes; direct traffic; feed the cast; and more. There is some way for everyone to get involved.

How do I sign up?
You can sign up online at www.firstbaptistraytown.com/serve, at the Registration Station in the lobby, or at Pageant Kickoff on Wednesday.

Is the kickoff something I should attend if I don’t know if I want to be involved?
ABSOLUTELY! Pageant kickoff is a great time to come get acquainted with the behind the scenes stuff, what the story line is, what music we’re doing, and all the different ways to get involved. Even if you aren’t sure if Pageant is for you, we’d still love for you to join us at the Pageant Kickoff at 7:00 p.m. in the Atrium (located by the Gym) this Wednesday, September 7. See you there!

About Alyson Browning

I am a writer, reader, cellist, missionary, television connoisseur, and daydreamer. I love the benefits of being a daughter, sister, and aunt - loving on and being loved by my incredible family. The thing that occupies the better part of my day, is the always unpredictable job title of Director of Communitycations (yep, I made up that word!) at First Baptist Raytown. I love working for and serving in my home church.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Missions, Pageant, Serving Snapshots. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Debbie Willoughby Longchamps

    I had a good time, did you? Even though I was not present for pageant physically, I was there in spirit singing along. Your current storyline was right on and timely for today’s world. After having served as a FEMA disaster assistance team member this past summer, I could totally and enthusiastically relate to the story line. Great job everyone! thanks for all your love and hard work. I am praying for FBC to find a permanent Pastor soon. Blessings to you and yours this season and all year long.
    In Him,
    Debbie Longchamps

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

